Trying Knitting and Walking…

January 25, 2018

Hello fellow knitters,

DSCN3056

The brim of the hat…soon to be folded over…

So, for the next three months(yes, only three months left of this crazy schedule–oh, sorry, that’s my reminder), I have scheduled a possible but crazy back to back set of three classes. Is my college kind enough to put them near each other? Not on my life. So, only three more months of dashing from class to class. I usually have enough time I don’t have to run, yet…which means I can knit, but some days the schedule feels tight if I even use the bathroom. And I was taught never to pass up that particular activitiy…never mind, you’re here for the knitting.

DSCN3055

…As I re-learn how to work with a provisional cast-on…

We’ll blame the Sam Adams Coffee Black Porter I’m testing as I unwind and prepare to hit the books. Alas, it is much harder to walk and read, than it is to walk and knit. Trust me, I run into fewer people knitting, and one of these patterns is quite repetitive…almost thankfully. Since today was warm enough to walk without gloves and extra ear protection, just barely…I decided to attempt a photo anyways….

DSCN3054

It’s truly hard to knit with one hand on the camera…but here’s a mock-up…

I’m just about ready to form the brim on the This hat is the Copy Cat C.C. Beanie by Emily Ingrid available thru the link.  hat…but we’ll save that for a study break, as it’s going to take some paying attention. I won’t be walking and knitting for this part. However, I’m enjoying a simplistic, quick knit…and I now “know” how to twist a stitch…maybe I’ll be able to recognize it someday if I do so again;-).

DSCN3061

Latest pair of socks…yes, that will be the bottom of my foot…

I also got in some appointment knitting on the latest sock…so that foot is seeing progress as well. I’m hoping to truly catch the stealth in the Stealth Argyle sock by  Eunny Jang. I’m still working up a pattern repeat at this time. I suspect I’ll be doing two of these though.

DSCN3059

And now for the visual interest…I believe I’m going to love these socks!

Until next time,

Happy Knitting!

 

2 Responses to “Trying Knitting and Walking…”

  1. AJ Says:

    The socks are so pretty! I sure do t know how you can walk and knit???


  2. You never know, but it helps if you start with a stockinette stitch pattern for knitting and walking. Mine was half desperation…If I can start now, and knit while I walk, I can get in a whole row before class starts.

Leave a comment