I Broke Them…Again…

August 10, 2017

Perhaps I’ve been a bit tense…perhaps wood isn’t meant to knit this pattern. I’m going with the latter. I had the new needles less than a week. I finished the row of Terpander I was working on. Then I began the next row a couple of days later, as I was unwinding from working too many days in a row…My job is mentally and somewhat emotionally exhausting, as well as near constant motion, no matter how many “breaks” they give us. So, I sat down to knit some easy rows. I was mid row, but not even decreasing when I heard the snap and realized I only had half a needle in my hand. It also broke in a different spot this time. Blast it!

DSCN2447

The new needles…they might clash with the hot pink/charged cherry yarn, but they should help me finish the job…

I thought about calling Knit Picks again. I’m sure they’ll replace them…but that means waiting until next week for my new needles. I’m also tired of going over this process again, when I’m nearly done with this pair of socks. It just so happens that I joined a fun facebook group called “Addicted to Sock Knitting,” and they were discussing their favorite needles there. I learned I’m not the only one who breaks wood needles. They’re pretty, but they’re breaking far too easy.

DSCN2438

Birthday score, with a story…maybe there will be a yarn skiff for Christmas…(at this rate, maybe I’ll have these two pair of socks knit by then…)

I ended up going with Chiaogoo circulars and they are supposed to arrive today. I likely won’t have time to use them until Sunday, but it’s still better than waiting until sometime next week for new needles to arrive. I can make progress and hopefully not break anything important.

DSCN2445

Current progress on the Slip-N-Slide socks…back side…I think I’m going to learn to love the lack of colorplay

In the meantime…I am carrying with me the travel knitting Slip-N-Slide socks I have restarted. I made some good progress while driving to another town, nearly two hours away to try some excellent Italian food. If you are in Grand Rapids, Michigan, come eat at Amore Trattoria Italiana and I recommend the Chef’s tasting. It’s reasonably priced and everything was excellent. I’m not sure there was anything we didn’t like. Don’t forget dessert, they’re cute, they’re often rich…but you cannot go wrong. It was the only time the waitress didn’t have a specific recommendation. She said, “Eenie, Meenie, Mienie, Moe usually works for me.” I got the three types of custards and a truffle. The hazelnut rolled truffle came with the tasting and was rich enough on its own. The Chocolate, Vanilla Bean and Raspberry Panna Cotta was also excellent. I took some to a friend to share, even in tiny portions. I will be returning to this restaurant. Dear James said he’d have the stuffed mushrooms and fennel parmesan soup to make a meal out of that alone. It was a very satisfying birthday experience.

DSCN2444

The front of the Slip-N-Slide socks…this pattern is getting more fun to knit…let’s hope it knits up a bit quicker now…

Then we visited with an old friend and came home to my gifts. He got me mostly quilting stuff you can find on my Quilting Journeys page. But the scale has a story…While searching for ideas for my gift, I researched yarn skiffs, scales and rotating cutting mats as well as some quilting rulers. He made some selections and decided the yarn skiff would have to wait (perhaps for Christmas, he said). Then he made his selections, checked out online and later a scale that had been left in his cart arrived. So, I have to wind my yarn the hard way, but I can know how much it ways…at least until Christmas (provided he remembers or I hint strongly enough). We’ll see how it comes out in the end…He did get me fabric, and I have plenty of stash yarn and am breaking needles at every turn right now, so more yarn was not necessary.

Leave a Reply

