Two Steps Forward…One Step Back…

June 8, 2017

What did I get done this week? More than expected actually, I think. Let me explain…mistakes first…. At the ball game, people don’t get the “I’m knitting a complicated row here, don’t talk to me,” glare really well. Perhaps they think it’s normal that I mutter to my knitting, and I do try to remain polite and not scare the kids. So, later in the week, when I picked up my socks, I noticed a problem with the last knot.

DSCN2250

Can you tell? I’ll be able to a little, but I think they’ll feel similar….

Then I held the internal debate, Do I leave it and pretend no one will notice? Or Do I rip it out and start again…so many rows, and I have an exam and a research paper due this week. Sounds busy, right? Well, I didn’t do quite enough studying for the exam, as I thought I needed articles for this paper. I didn’t. Alas, next time I have a better strategy. So I got a solid B on my exam…I chose not to hate it today. However, I got feedback on my first research paper, and while the bias is strong with this one…I got 58/60…That’s like 96.67% –woo-hoo…I hope the next two are just as good;-), and hopefully not as biased, but really, who thinks swearing makes one look more credible? I survived my two point hit for bias, much better than I did the B on the exam…if only I’d listened to my first instincts.

DSCN2248

So, the forever debate…finish them or re-do the end to make it right…

Okay, so, again, two steps forward, one step back…I’m still a few points away from that elusive A. However, on the socks, I knew I’d know, and I thought they might feel different, so I started tinking… (makes me think of old men tinkering under the hood of the car). And with tinking back a few rows comes re-knitting the pattern. Want to know what else I screwed up, the tinking. I didn’t go all the way back to the lifeline. I thought I could fudge it since the pattern lets me know where I’m at. I tinked back to row 14 of 20. Except the problem was in row 13 as well as 15.

DSCN2247

So glad no one is around when I knit these!

It’s firm now, I’ll take an A- on the socks. They’re staying and here’s why. I simply didn’t seem to cable row 13 at all. It only changes the pattern a little and looks like it will feel similar. However, I just knit the last row of the chart, and the guilt is stepping in…let’s see how a photo looks. I’ll post next week whether I took another step back or if I just purged forward. Besides, I’m running out of colors…okay, not really.

DSCN2246

We’re getting there…soon I’ll have more alone time for these babies…

Speaking of color, time to update on the Terpander socks, I got four rows done last week….I’m still not sure how this happened…and I’ll get more time to finish them soon as I had a class cancelled…and once I determined I could use the extra grant money to pay for fall classes, I said, “Yeah, Summer!”

DSCN2245

Decided I needed flowers this week…the shade didn’t want to show all the beauty though…I’ll have to find a better way to snap these pics…

So, it’s almost summer, which means time to plant a patio container garden. (I am not starting a container gardening blog…no matter how much “free” time I’ll have coming up…there’s knitting, sewing, quilting, writing…you get the picture, I won’t be truly “free.” Alas, the container garden is in process…check these babies out…we’ll see what I can identify. Stay posted, there’ll hopefully be more.DSCN2244 (2)

Yes, that’s German Chamomile(the tall one), Cosmos(the pink open one) drinking up sunshine, and Pansies hanging out everywhere but looking at the camera…Then there is a Begonia or two in there.  I do love Begonias.

Soon, I get to cast on another pair of socks. Perhaps I’ll set up a vote next week, perhaps I’ll surprise you;-).

Leave a Reply

