Noticing the Mistakes…or Am I Done Yet?

May 18, 2017

It seems to be a week for finding mistakes. I’m never sure Jessica’s quilt will hang straight, and I forgot to get photos of it before I posted my quilt blog last night. But I had some time either Friday or Sunday and got out the Terpander socks. I knit the cable row and another row. This was the row of five cables…across four sides of sock. Then on the backside of one of the socks, I found the mistake, where I apparently carried the cable stitches the wrong way…about ten rows ago…I knit two rows a week on this sock….and usually, currently, about forty-five minutes to an hour at at time. That’s going to translate into over five hours to fix. It’s noticeable now, because it’s close to the heel on the back. However, by the time I get them done, it won’t be too noticeable, I hope. I’ve already made the decision to call it an angel kiss. It’s done. I will go on…the socks will go on.

DSCN2094

Can you believe it? Tricky socks these are…but I’m not telling again after this….

I’ve also knit the knot socks some this week. I don’t miss the commute to class, but I do get to have more of my own four walls for company, with music playing or quiet, but I don’t get as much time to knit before class. I’ve decided I can kick in about a half hour every other day. I sew an hour almost every day, so I still only get a half hour a day to knit, and I get to it about three days a week.

DSCN2092

The front of the socks with fewer mistakes…thank goodness…

But the knot socks are knit one at a time, and top-down means the area after the heel goes faster, not slower(as with toe-up). I am only knitting pattern on one needle and am simply knitting on the other two needles, instead of constantly flicking back and forth.

DSCN2152

Current progress on the knot socks…We’re getting there/Are we there yet? Is kicking in…

However, I have the itch, so I need to knit more and perhaps faster…I itch to cast on a new pattern and knit some new fun socks. I’m thinking of the Slip and Slide socks next by Chrissy Gardener in Ann Budd’s Sock Knitting: Master Class. ….https://books.google.com/books/about/Sock_Knitting_Master_Class.html?id=pAw38mxuZlQC&printsec=frontcover&source=kp_read_button#v=onepage&q&f=false

DSCN2153

See what I mean…I’ll be looking for a cool day in June to show these babies off;-)

This looks like a fun pattern. The other one I’m considering is another new to me technique…Stealth Argyles….by Eunny Jang…also in Ann Budd’s Sock Knitting: Master Class. It’s a worthwhile book if you have a sock knitting addiction(as I do when I’m not feeding my quilting addiction). However, I still have a repeat and a half, plus toes to go…so I better get back to the knitting…and get some photos taken of my progress.

DSCN2131.JPG

The perfect new bag to put a sweater kit in…don’t you think? Or enough yarn for a fade shawl…choices, choices…

Also, I’m not talking about the fade shawls that have been catching my attention, or the cardigans others are working on…I’m thinking of starting one of those around my birthday, perhaps….in August, so by the time they get big and bulky, I can snuggle under them for cool fall days…perhaps I should wait until October to start….but then I may not have either done in time for true cold to set in.

Leave a Reply

