Darn That Sock! (And psst…it’s done;-)!)…

April 5, 2017

It was inevitable, wasn’t it? My toe nails are long and my yarn was split…or a stitch wasn’t knit perfectly…and I’m not gentle with anything…It takes a great deal of energy for me to be gentle with things…I usually aim for durable. But a few socks have formed holes in them. Some are due to inexperience with the patterns, but some are due to simple wear and tear…and perhaps the way I hold my feet/walk. But two of my favorite pair of socks had holes in them. Since I was busy preparing for the quilt retreat, I have not had much time for sewing or knitting. However, this morning, I had an extra half hour…I found one of my eggs on  or near my bunny shelf…I’ll get you a pic of the shelf perhaps next week…and I decided to darn that sock.

DSCN2026

Back side of the Terpander socks…I made some progress this week, but I won’t feel like I’m almost done until I’m in the last repeat or I’m learning to love the rib stitch again….

Instead of mimicking my ex-husband who would stand there and point meaningfully at the the sock, and firmly state, “Darn sock,” (sometimes with a playful grumble); I stuffed the bigger of the eggs in the sock, and proceeded to pick up some stitches beneath the area to be patched. I then chose seven stitches to pick-up and knit and set to knitting.

DSCN2027

Terpander socks…they’re coming along, slow but sure…(excuse the photography please…)

I admit, there were two weird parts of knitting this sock…(knitting around an egg was the least of them…it really did make it easier to pick up the stitches….the weird things were 1) knitting flat on a sock…I think I had to remember how to purl, seriously; and 2) picking up knitting two together to seal the sides of the patch without stitching.

DSCN2023

You almost can’t tell…but it could be the photography…up close and personal, it’s noticeable…however, my feet haven’t noticed, and they were warm and cozy today;-).

The patch took me a little over a half hour, I blame inexperience and picking and k2t for this…as well as the grafting kitchener stitch at bind-off, in which the unexpected happened. However, I got the socks done in time to wear them to class today…even if they are not perfect. My feet have not noticed…I suspect that’s the important part.

DSCN2019

Completed Owl hat with violet eyes…

As for the rest of the knitting…It’s done! It’s done…eyes sewn on and all….See! Sorry I forgot to get a pic of the friend I knit it for wearing it. I’ll steal a facebook photo of hers later(with permission, mostly) and share it when you least expect it and need a pick me up.

DSCN2032

Knot Socks…row 6 of 20…11 rows and counting until heel section…

In the meantime, here’s the slow progress on the other socks I’m working on…and now to find the green yarn for the vanilla latte socks and get some darning done as well as quilting this weekend. May your weekend be as fun as mine, half as fun if you are not attending a retreat…(there may be another–tips were good this week;-)).

Leave a Reply

