It’s All About The Process…Right?

March 30, 2017

…until you realize the process is taking you the better part of the year…

DSCN2001

Allow me to explain…I’m working on my quilt blog this week, so I don’t tell all of you about them here….I think I’m due for a blog post there as well…and I’m noticing with the others that hand-quilting is being treated as a dying art…there’s just not enough demand(or enough quilters with project distract-ability, I guess.) Don’t get me wrong, some are going on the machine. But some will have to be hand-quilted as well. Yes, I realize these will take forever, but by forever, I mean years…and it’s about the process, right….

DSCN1998

Unless you are knitting socks…then you wish they made quicker progress knowing that one row on these babies can take you a half hour. It’s for both socks at once, thankfully, but it’s time consuming. And then you look at your travel pair, and they’ve still got most of one more repeat to make it to the heel…so they can begin the decrease and become even easier to knit…right. Then you notice the hat, it’s supposed to be done soon, (and it’s actually moving quickly, but it’s not done yet), and you only put three rows into it last night because you were worn out from school. Then, of course, it snowed. That’s right, Old Man Winter stopped by last night, he felt missed…and that one person you are knitting the hat for, is the one person who likes winter. However, you’re going to finish it this weekend and hand it off to her, so you can return your attention to the socks and free up some needles to repair some socks you’ve apparently worn through and shouldn’t be wearing…but it’s not yet too warm for knit socks….

DSCN2007

See? It’s never to warm for knit socks when snow is still flying….blasted snow!

 

Now I went back and read last week’s blog. I think this will help me focus the blog a bit better. I was checking on test progress that wasn’t in yet last week. Part of me doesn’t want to talk about it. I got B’s on most of my tests. I’m told “B” is a good grade. If it is for you, that’s fine, but I’m not satisfied with less than an “A.” I haven’t been much of my life. They were high “B’s” so I’m going with I can work with them. I could have used the extra credit points, but the stress I would have put myself through to get them, as well as maybe a lower “B” in another class, just wasn’t worth it. I’ll work with them and write the best paper I can.

DSCN2006

Owl Hat…I’m going to have to get an outside picture…but, thirteen more rows to go…easy-peasy, right?

In the meantime, let’s get back to the fun stuff. There are socks…and whoa…I made some progress on that owl hat…Look! I also made some progress on the socks. Both pair. They’re just not where I want them. However, I still have homework to do and more knitting to get done (and to decide when I’m going to defend my parking space tonight.) I also need to get some cooking done and decide how I’m going to modify a recipe since I forgot the chicken stock….or am I going to give a frozen block of soup(perhaps mushroom or onion) a test run with chicken and turnips with a little half-and-half(I was supposed to get heavy cream)…and I didn’t get chicken stock as I didn’t check fridge, freezer, pantry or recipes before I went shopping tonight. Alas, I cook like I knit  and quilt…(and sometimes like I study). I’m lucky these are my strengths, but if I’m getting a “B” in life, then I’m doing pretty darn good. So for now, enjoy the sock photos, and I hope the snow doesn’t make you shiver too much…Next week, I’ll either be early or late, as I’m off to a quilt retreat.

DSCN2009

Needing new socks so I can darn the old ones (I need the knitting needles too)…

Leave a Reply

