Learning to Love the Rib…

March 17, 2017

…one (tongue-in-cheek) meditative stitch at a time.

There has been frustration. There will be frustration. This week, I am ignoring the frustration. Frustration, thy name is rib stitch…this week, however, I’ve decided it’s somewhat soothing.

DSCN1969

I usually look at a knit 1, purl 1 or k2, p2 rib stitch and think, could they have done this differently? Often the answer is yes. For my nieces stockings, I took a forty stitch round and made them a knit 4, purl 4 sort of rib. I still got a good effect and elasticity, but with less pain.

I honestly think my favorite was the slight rib in the Vanilla Latte Socks found here on Ravelry.com  by Virginia Rose-Jeanes. The stitch is knit 6, purl 2, repeated. I enjoyed this stitch. I do not desire to knit it every sock, but the purl two invader keeps me from asking “Are we done yet?” Stockinette stitches have not managed this, though I may apply this philosophy for travel socks when I’m done with this pair.

DSCN1956 - Copy

Example of a different “Are we there yet?” pattern…apparently, ‘Third time’s a charm’ really is my limit. I make it through the fourth repeat with only one or two “Are we there yets,” Usually?

But we all know me better than that. I was going to turn over a new leaf this week. I wasn’t going to complain. I was going to damn the knit 1, purl 1 rib with faint praise. It’s okay, it’s average…it’s so much easier to write knit 1, purl 1, than to reach your index finger up and to the right to reach the five or six…right. I was going to be a good sport. But I have a test next week…and good news regarding other tests, but the homework load doesn’t get easier, (not sure it ever does), and knit four, purl four just means less flicking.

DSCN1967 - Copy

These “Knot Socks” By Nancy Bush in Ann Budd’s Sock Knitting: Master Class are going to be a favorite sock when I finish them…(ignoring the 23 rib stitches in a row).

Ah, flicking….how loved thou aren’t. However, I’m only doing the flicking on the back half of one sock right now, so what have I to complain about? Nothing, you say. I could answer “Dread,” but I don’t think you’ll buy it. So let’s get into these pretty patterns and I’ll explain, while trying to stay in the moment…I’m beginning to think I’m about flicked out.

DSCN1959 - Copy

Back side of the repeats….sides include a four stitch k1, p1 rib…however, four is easier than half the sock…or something close. It’s about a quarter total….maybe, on this sock. I don’t have to math tonight, that’s tomorrow night, right?

I’m knitting the Terpander socks. I just finished one of three (I think), maybe four repeats of a touch chart pattern and will have four easy rows of knitting soon. Count them, four. However, when I finally get to the end of these socks, I have about an inch and a half of a seventy-six stitch k1,p1 rib. I’m not sure this pattern lends itself to another rib….and this one was designed this way for a reason.

DSCN1961

 

But the real why of it, is I just knit 8 rows of 80 stitches in k1, p1 rib. I could have done four and four, or three, four, four….I’m starting to see a pattern here on the Owl Hat by Julie Measures. A pattern you can purchase on ravelry.com. Yarn is brown(not gray….

DSCN1970

See what I mean….23, it all comes down to 23, right….wait, are these Prime socks….or just more ribbing….

Then there’s the travel socks, pictured above…all are enough to keep me in rib stitch for a bit…. What do you think? Do any of you find it soothing?DSCN1960 - Copy

New Yarn, to match a new silk shirt in red found at Goodwill….I think it will go well…I’ll try to get each next week. These shall become the French Market socks in Ann Budd’s Sock Knitting, Master Class.

What do I really find soothing? Finding the right pattern to go with the yarn….see, squee…new needles, and new yarn, Squee!!!!!!!!!!!!!(oops, sorry about the decibel levels).

One Response to “Learning to Love the Rib…”

  1. Bybyq Says:

    I don’t like doing ribbing either 😦 Maybe I like rib even less than you do, I don’t even have a favourite rib…

Leave a Reply

