It’s Officially Spring Break! There Will Be Knitting….

March 3, 2017

….There will be sewing/quilting….and yes….(There will be (some) studying).

But the focus does not have to be on the studying for the next week. So long as I read ahead in    the classes that allow for it. I shall have time to knit and sew quilts….and research and write papers.

dscn1904

And sometimes, I’m a pen and paper girl, too…though I prefer the prettier journal, this is what I had with me today.

A week off of classes should mean progress on many other fronts, as well as the keeping up with the homework front…I hope. In addition, I, too, had to go pen and paper today…explanation to come. I am imagining a nice warm mug of Bigelow Vanilla Chai tea(or some blend with English Black tea or China black tea to warm me) as I sit and knit for the next week with no-thoughts of up-coming tests. Today’s was good, but I must check that it wasn’t better (it wasn’t perfect, and there was extra credit, as well as smudges).

dscn1899

My youngest niece in Middle School band uniform (without her trumpet)….

Now, for this week…of course I have big plans. I plan to finish at least one repeat of the Knot Socks by Nancy Bush that I’ve been working on. I asl plan to make progress on the legs of the Terpander socks by Melissa Morgan-Oakes, both patterns presented in Ann Budd’s Sock-Knitting: Master Class: Innovative Techniques + Patterns from Top Designers.

dscn1907

Nancy Bush’s Knot Socks….poor pic of that too….darned camera…or is it the operator?

Sewing wise, I hope to get a good many circles ripped out, and others sewn on (This is part of the process). I hope to get the Mystery Quilt re-sewn  and I need to get a horse neck and mane (as well as the foal) sewn to the background fabric…and a Murder Mystery Quilt block finished (by next week).

dscn1900

Darned terrible pic of Terpander socks….better one next week….

I’m playing with the goal of having the top (of the horse quilt) done by the next quilt retreat (in early April). It sounds daunting, but it can be done. I just have to plan for it….as well as a Spring school play(that hopefully does not get cancelled–someone remind me to invite my Dad)….

dscn1902

Another terrible pic of the heels….onward and upward, right (besides, I think I’m over half done).

So, what’s going on in the present? I’m working on my socks, which I hope to come back to, but I (*LOUD GASPS) forgot my knitting today as I was preparing for my test. Ugh…facepalm! (I do not normally give in to millennial hysterics, but today was the day for it). So, once I’d consumed my lunch, I opened my battered copy of The Country Register of Mount Pleasant, MI  to somewhere near the middle and found a Knitting column, called The Dropped Stitch by Sharon Greve. The article title read: “The Empowerment of Knitting.”

dscn1898

My oldest nephew(Principal percussionist who noticed not everyone was on the same second song) in band uniform(after he’s started helping put stuff away)….

I enjoyed this fun article about how knitting began with men and became a woman’s task with the invention of the knitting machine in 1589. Ms. Greves went on to discuss the International Day of the Woman(one of my favorite holidays) on March 8th with some of it’s history as well. I was quite charmed by this article as I sought to fill my time between classes and later surprise plans to see Lego Batman once my Spring Break had officially begun. The movie may have began a new era for my eldest niece and I…”I hate you more,” Instead of “I love you more,” as the movie is all about ‘ships, and how Batman, he works alone….Go see it, you’ll see what I mean;-). P.S. If it helps, said niece is 15.

dscn1896

15, in Ohio state colors(yes that’s an Ohio state shirt, and a crime in Michigan), holding her sister’s trumpet….That it pisses off both Michigan State (and that other school at the same time) is simply a bonus for her….see what I mean;-).

Leave a Reply

