They’re Done! The Toes Are Done!

November 25, 2016

They’re off the needles and they’re close enough to gift. I must have increased a stitch or two somewhere though, because when I counted the stitches while preparing to decrease the toes, I had seventy-eight stitches instead of seventy-six…So I simply performed an extra decrease for perhaps an extra round.  At this point, I really can’t tell. I don’t think the recipient will be able to tell either. She’s not yet an experienced knitter, and it matters how they feel on the feet. I have pics of the finished pair, but they won’t see feet until Christmas. I also have to keep secret about; and hope I’m clever enough to set her off track if she guesses.

dscn1516

The finished socks…I hope the recipient has a great purple shirt to wear with them, or brown or blue…Perhaps I should tell her mother;-)

In the meantime, I need to think of a creative way to gift-wrap these and present them. This is one of my favorite parts of Christmas. Okay, okay, I got the reminder. Happy Thanksgiving! I hoped to put this up earlier anyway but was distracted by food comas, surprise Orange Cranberry Sauce and catching up on TV shows. In part, I was half to blame for this. So let me go back and say, I hope your food and family gathering were as enjoyable as mine.

dscn1518

The backs of these socks…see the ribbing…I’m now wishing that was the toughest part, but for me, it was cabling while talking to classmates…

Now, let’s get the tree up and move on to wrapping gifts…Wait, I still have to knit and sew some, crap. The tree will have to wait till Sunday, with my little. (Thanks for the great idea, guys!). I sewed more hexies into the hexy background I thought I’d had big enough. I feel like I’m always saying two more inches. So, with the quilting stuff, I’m always going two more inches, with the knitting stuff I feel like I’m going just keep decreasing…

dscn1512

Scamp claiming my yarn bag…she likely thinks to try to escape with the yarn if I leave it open…she’ll wait for me.

Allow me to explain why my other title for this was going to be “Always Decreasing.” I started with seventy-eight stitches at the toes instead of seventy-six. I think I simply added in the two extra decreases and decreased three at even intervals that round instead of one. It was the simplest way. Then I decreased six stitches on the next round, as I thought I was supposed to do. I was either talking to others, paying attention to the previous class letting out, or distracted somehow. It was not lost on me that I couldn’t knit straight knitting with a couple of decreases correctly. So I counted my stitches and still had to decrease in the next round. I figured out where I thought it happened, or close, and simply added one decrease in the next round. After a couple of rounds of this, I thought, maybe I should just decrease three every round.

dscn1520

The latest project…it’s simple at least…I have not decided if I’m going to squeeze in another pair of socks or not. I don’t have much time. And i need to find a way to show the blue of this better. The colorway is cloud. I’ll tell you about it next week.

I didn’t. It gets a little tense if I try this, I know. And I would be doing that soon enough. Out of the twelve rounds, two or three did not have decreases that weren’t supposed to be. But how many of you counted where my decreases happened anyways. They look good, and as long as they are comfortable on her feet is all that matters. And now there is a different color in a different pattern on these needles for a bit, as I have another gift to finish, in addition to the quilt top. Oh boy, it’s gonna be a busy December. Anyone wanna come over, ignore the sewing scrap mess and clutter and have some wine as we knit?

Leave a Reply

