I’m Starting The Toes…

November 18, 2016

…and I done did it….but on a positive note, the new knit picks needles have arrived. I hope to knit the cerise Terpander socks soon…I promise. In the meantime, allow me to pour another glass of wine, some for you too, I hope. Now, I shall tell you the story of my knitting, with a few other things tossed in, because a girl isn’t supposed to live on knitting alone, is she? Oh, wait, that was bread I wasn’t only supposed to live on.

So, the juice is this; I’ve gone and done it. I’ve dried my hand-knit wool socks, most of them; in the dryer, with medium heat.  I already push it by washing them in a machine, (gasp!). A girl has only so much time to knit, quilt, and study. So, this week I forgot to pull my socks out of the wash as the wash was placed in the dryer.

dscn1495

Do you see the difference? Oy and vey….oh dear, what did I do? Wait, they still fit, yeah!

I think they did shrink a little, but in the past I have knit my socks a little on the big side. So, once I stopped freaking out about having dried my socks, I tried them on. I found they still fit. Thank goodness! No, I do not plan to continue this trend, and I fear the socks will shrink too small for my feet, but for now, I can only blame stress. I just finished one exam and have two papers due a day apart next week.

dscn1503

Scamp, Helping me with writing this blog. I get similar issues with homework.

Count them, yes, I said two papers. I should be writing them right now. However, most of my hand-knit socks have been returned to their drying mesh and I’m giving into my guilty pleasure of catching Project Runway for the week. I try to be a good girl, I’m just not very good at it.

dscn1506

Scamp, Helping me Work on this…did I mention Project Runway?

So, let’s sneak back to the papers I should be writing. One of them is suppposed to be an analysis of a book I do not relate to well using feminist criticism. One of them is on Euripide’s Medea. I’m not sure how you can get farther apart. One woman is rebuilding her life after having killed a man who was raping her. The other killed her children to spite her husband, but in a time when children were raised to go to war in certain communities. Alas, let’s get back to the knitting and quilting, for the moment. I cannot wait until next Tuesday, when both papers will be submitted and hopefully done. In the meantime, hang onto your hats, kids; It could be a wild ride.

dscn1501

Maeve, helping me work as well….the nut…my girls love to snuggle or interrupt homework…

Since I often knit before or between classes, I do have some good news for you: I’m at the toes. Really! I’m knitting the toes. I could finish these socks next week, though I still have to study for my Psychology and work to catch up in Masterpieces of Ancient Literature. The Literary Analysis class could get interesting but should get a little easier, if she doesn’t kill my paper before she gets the concepts in it.

dscn1508

Toes….toes…really, I’m at the toes!

So, back to the toes. I start decreasing next. Now, I just have to remember to get photos of the finished sock on the recipients’ feet when I gift them to her. And the quilt is making progress too…but I may have to create another blog page for that;-). Wish me luck guys, I think finals might be easy compared to this week! dscn1510

Two socks, almost matching…perhaps we’ll talk about that next week, but close enough to pass and hopefully, gift;-).

Leave a Reply

