Eight More Rows to the Toes…

November 11, 2016

That’s right. I still should be revising a paper, but most of the rest of my homework is done tonight. However, some of it was at the sacrifice of knitting, until Project Runway came on tonight. It’s my guilty pleasure. Currently, I have the television sound muted so I can focus on work. Music may be required. But let’s get back to the knitting.

dscn1479

Squib getting snugly while I knit.

I had a measly four more rows completed, and I haven’t touched the pretty pink cashmere socks as I don’t have replacement needles from Knit Picks yet. Would you like to hear about it? I’m sure you would. I finally broke down and called them this evening. I don’t care for making cold calls, so I set them up as an exchange for “other” reasons, because every time I remembered I needed to handle this, it was pretty late at night. I do still work overnights. When I chose broken on their online site, they directed me to a phone number. I don’t like phone numbers. I just don’t. I’m the customer. It’s after ten p.m. No one should have to stay up to re-send me needles after ten p.m. That’s what email is for, right? (Yes, I provided them with this suggestion.)

dscn1482

Maeve, helping with the knitting…or claiming the bag as hers….

Alas, I broke down tonight after losing not one, but two RMA forms that I had not taped onto a padded envelope and called them just before a normal person’s dinnertime. They were quite nice, confirmed my address and told me the new needles would be sent to me right away. Of course, there’s no mail for Veteran’s day as well. No, I’m not knitting the troops anything. I’m still working on Christmas gifts here. (Shh…the munchkins are hopefully busy with their own projects). Though, my youngest niece has joined facebook. I may have to get super-duper secret with certain projects. For now, what they don’t know won’t hurt them;-).

dscn1485

I promise, I inserted the second lifeline…it just doesn’t show in this photo.

So, I had four tiny little rows and it was looking like it might be three weeks before I get to the toes instead of two. I’ve been working on my applique quilt and the semi-secret fantasy quilt this week. Photos of one will be included. But let me get back to these four measly rows–this is exactly how my week has been going… and I have a ton of papers to write. Alas, the knitting, I sat down to watch Project Runway on time tonight instead of during its re-run, and since I wasn’t trying to do homework or anything serious, I picked up my knitting and began row five, then I continued on, and as it came to an end I was knitting row 11 and deciding I should insert a lifeline.

dscn1487

Current progress–side view…Soon there will be toes;-).

I’ve gotten decent at lifelines, though they take time that I could be knitting, however, they are life savers. I’m sold. I also got to watch The Project Runway Financial Start-up where investors who know the business listen to pitches from entrepreneurs trying to break into the fashion industry. Then I completed row twelve and decided it was okay to go back to homework. Though one of my Graduate Assistant’s in Psychology was asking me if this was going to be the longest sock ever, because it was taking me so long to knit. I’ll refrain from including the “clever” joke he attempted–this is the same one who wants a sweater;-)…I’ll be lucky to have the sock done by Christmas at this rate.

dscn1470

Current progress on block 1 of the Summertime Sampler by Erica Krapow…except no black fabric;-). And I’m learning about placement…

Alas, I did get some knitting done, and I re-sewed a leaf or two on the quilt…So, I hope you enjoy, perhaps I’ll have better news next week. After all, I’m looking forward to seeing a live performance of A Chorus Line, the musical this weekend. May your weekend be restful and full of knitting.

Leave a Reply

