Slightly Disappointed This Week…

November 3, 2016

I’m making good progress on the purple socks. The professor I met over the summer that asked if my yarn was some German or Austrian name I couldn’t understand saw my sock again and asked if it was the second sock. As class was beginning soon, I didn’t go into the full story and simply replied, “Yes.” I have two more rows and one more repeat-so, twenty two rows before I begin the toe. I’m getting so excited for the toes. (I also only had to rip out half of a row this week!)

dscn1464Sock progress…I need a better photo.

So, why am I disappointed, you ask, if the socks are going so well…Well, remember the other pair of socks I’ve been making slow progress on over the weeks…I knit two rows on them on Sunday with no problems. Then I was knitting in some of my downtime last night with no one around to distract me, and as I knit the middle of the cable row on sock B, The knitting needle snapped. How rude.

dscn1450

I couldn’t believe it. I was just knitting! Cabling, yes, but still just knitting.

So, I have to think quickly, but the size two metal needle is still in the knitting bag, and I pull it out to finish the row and frantically scramble to try to pick up all the lost stitches. I finish knitting the cable row on the metal needles and decide to knit the next row on them to finish picking up the stitches that were already knit when the KnitPicks Majestic needle broke. I wasn’t happy and I’m exchanging them, hoping this is a fluke. *However,  KnitPicks.com customer service is all about phone calls, and it’s email service(for knitters who are knitting later at night), leaves much to be desired–as in I couldn’t find it. I found an exchange, but they haven’t told me my next needle shipped yet. I want to get back to my knitting on this pair.

dscn1451

Let’s hope this yarn is forgiving of the frequent needle changes…but I’m getting so close…

They could be some wonky socks, with all the needle changes. In the meantime, I’ve decided to focus on the purple socks and maybe the quilting. I can’t wait to see the end product of either one.

*I will post next week about how long it takes KnitPicks.com to send out the new pair and fix this issue. I’m sure it’s been less than 60 days, and I’ve heard good things about their customer service.

 

Leave a Reply

