The Sock May Be In The Details…

August 26, 2016

It’s been a crazier week. I worked four days in a row(hardship, I know). However, one of those four days was fourteen hours of dealing cards to customers and ready to go home at twelve hours. We’re hosting our own annual poker tournament late, and I got the shift with the shortest stick. I didn’t draw the shortest stick. However, I still achieved some knitting and quilting in my three day weekend.

004

(My Dream Smooshy Yarn…I want to smoosh it…yes, that is now going to be a technical term;-))

First, I made some progress on my Knot socks and got through the first cable repeat. In addition, since I wasn’t untangling recycled denim yarn this Thursday, I actually got to my local yarn shop to cast on the Terpander socks I was planning to start last week. I was planning some other simple socks, but two different pair at a time should be enough socks.

DSCN1192

(My Knot socks…knit according to pattern…so far;-))

I also bought my books for classes and got them a shelf in my craft/work room. In addition, I also got many of the tweaks done on my super-secret(maybe) fantasy quilt and made some fabric decisions as well. I’m supposedly ready for school to start. Okay, not really, as it starts right at the end of my next four day weekend and I return to my second job as it starts, but I have my knitting set up…or so I thought.

Now, let me tell you about what went wrong. I’ve knit the knot socks twice before, so I feel I can knit them relaxed(not quite in my sleep, but relaxed), as for the Terpander…I’ve already had to re-knit. Allow me to explain.

DSCN1191

(One of my early attempts at the toe…it’s hard to see what’s what… More photos next week, I hope.)

I went to the yarn shop. I cast on sixteen stitches as directed. I knit a row, as the first row said to…and I then reviewed the pattern and worked out the increase math. I was supposed to cast on sixteen stitches, eight per side, not sixteen per side for thirty-two total stitches. I had to pull the yarn off and re-knit. Alas, my start looked better than I normally do. We couldn’t have that.

I’m hoping I pay better attention to these socks and don’t have to re-knit them four times or even three, as I love this yarn and want to keep a good relationship with it. So, I can only pick them up when I can give them full potential…You are welcome to stop laughing any time now…

 

2 Responses to “The Sock May Be In The Details…”

Leave a Reply

