Hard-Knitting Socks…

August 5, 2016

or…Heel-to-Toe And Back Again…thankfully, not as far as last time.

So, it was a small amount of ripping…or tinking this week…but I may be working my way to experienced-level tinking. (As soon as I think I’ve got it, I manage to screw something up.)

DSCN1023

How the sock look before I knit the first heel attempt…

I started working the heel turn on two circulars, and soon after had a toe…or some sort of appendage wrap that wasn’t meant to go on my heel, perhaps a duck bill. Sorry friends, no pictures of this, even though it was funny enough for a photo. You’ll have to use your imagination…I swear, next time, there will be pics…but there’s only so much evidence you want floating around the internet;-). DSCN1025

Squib only looks like he’s here for snuggles…

I tinked back to somewhere close (I hope), re-read the pattern when I was less tired (I hope), and made it work for me. This has been one difficult sock. The pattern is well-written, it just requires much attention to detail. I miss cabling. Cabling is so much easier. And for me, dpns are easier as well! I know those can be fightin’ words, but I like my heels on my dpns. They’re easy and comfortable, and I don’t have to go find silver. Though I love Silver’s Sock Knitting Classes and really should utilize her more when using a new or different approach.

Okay, that’s the knitting part, I’m currently a third of the way through the heel work. Let’s hope this stays reasonable and moves back into the regular pattern soon. The good news–class is over. I no longer have to be told how to write by someone else. I no longer have to submit to “You didn’t pay attention to MLA standards” when it was an upload error, not a paper writing error, and if you’d accepted a hard-copy, you’d have seen that. Okay, more wine please…I should be done knitting for the night anyhow. The cats and dogs are demanding my attention.

DSCN1027

In a matter of seconds, Squib will be attacking the extra needle length. However, if I get out the camera, he tends to disappear…

Though I have a leftover story from last week that I forgot to mention. My nieces do tend to make for cuter stories. I’ll come back to them. For last week, I dropped my car off to have it’s traction system checked out last Monday night into Tuesday morning. Of course, I didn’t sleep to my normal time, having my car in the hands of my mechanic–I’ve been highly scarred from previous vehicles. However, when I called the mechanic to check on my car, they told me they’d traced it back to a broken wire.

DSCN1033

Mama, come love me…I might even want a ride in the car…but, aren’t you done on that computer yet?  I want to be loved.

I asked if it was a ten dollar wire or a two-hundred dollar wire. He said they’d have a definite answer for me in thirty minutes. At least he didn’t tell me that was the million dollar question. So, forty-five minutes later(and I refrained from calling again), he told me it was a–wait for it, wait for it…a “left-front pigtail.” I nearly fell out of my writing chair laughing at the term. I resisted the urge to ask him if that was a technical term. I should have–and it probably is. Alas, the left-front pigtail only cost me $125.00 or so, and the end repairs with an oil change came to somewhere close to the $250 I had planned for the tune-up and oil-change. All in all, not a bad day for car repairs.  Anything in the $250.00 range is a gift from the car repair world in my book.

DSCN1028

The socks that need to be hard-wearing for all the tinking I’ve done…

This week, I need to return to these hard-knitting socks(that aren’t that hard, but require attention to detail), to hope they are hard-wearing socks, too. After all the time I spent ripping them out and re-knitting areas, they’re getting worn every time I wear something that matches. Here they are in their current glory.

Oops…I forgot to tell you the latest story about my nieces…I’ll update you next week. For now, they’ve started a secondary Word of the Day subscription and today’s word was scrumptious…I’m wondering what Jessica was cooking up;-).

4 Responses to “Hard-Knitting Socks…”


  1. Oh, my car went to get his oil change this week, and he needs to go back for a serpentine belt change next week. Sounds like a cobra is whirling around in my engine, doesn’t it? Still, the cost is under 200, so with the oil change I’ll also be at your happy $250 for the whole repair. I was so happy/relieved that I went and bought a sock book on the way home. It’s like we are disconnected knit mates. 🙂

Leave a Reply

