The Cat May Be Out Of The Bag…

July 29, 2016

…and some days, won’t get in. Other Days, she won’t get out…but I will come back to this story after the other events of my week.

This week, I almost didn’t get the knitting in. It’s been a busy week of a joint birthday party for my Little, Mariah and I; and borrowing my nieces-ages 12 and 14 respectively. Oh, And a half…for both of them. Their math is even mostly right, the twelve year old has two more weeks to the actual half. Alas, we gathered for celebrating my birthday(Tuesday, August 9) and Mariah’s birthday which was June 23. She turned 11 this year, and don’t you forget it;-). No, ladies, I am not disclosing my age, I enjoy that my youthful face earns so many flattering guesses. That, or those young whipper-snappers just look younger every year.

Alas, we went to Applebee’s for dessert (where I thought I had a gift card), but I must have misplaced it. The Banana Cracker Jack Cheesecake was decadent. Jessica(14) enjoyed her triple chocolate meltdown which was chocolate intoxication in the best way possible. Mariah had the oreo cookie shake, which she enjoyed immensely. Elizabeth (12) also enjoyed the Banana Cracker Jack Cheesecake, and was likely grateful she didn’t need to share much of hers, since I had some. Dessert was a nice affair, and one of the few times I’ve fed the kids dessert before dinner…but that’s part of the fun of being an aunt;-).

DSCN1012

See, The cat doesn’t want to get in the bag, this time… (This is where I often keep the knitting so it can travel with me as well)

Now, for the knitting. No ripping out this week. In fact, as I sat down for about an hour wait today for a class requirement that was borderline insulting. It’s English 201 and I write for fun. Think about it. It’s always good to have someone else with a good eye look over your work, but this should have been extra credit, not a requirement. I would have been more willing to go if it was extra credit, because then it is a choice. Instead, I sat down with my knitting, and polished off a couple more repeats of the instep expansion. I had time for one more row earlier. I chose not to start it as it would have been a yarn over row. I prefer to save that work for when I can complete the next row when possible.

DSCN1010

Current progress on the socks…look, look, I’m almost back to the heel!

It worked out, and since I didn’t get to more knitting this evening as I made the greens and decided how to cook the chicken with a strawberry-papaya and an avocado…well, dinner is an interesting mix of flavors. Perhaps next time I’ll leave out the amaranth and chicken broth, keep the walnuts and put it all over romaine lettuce. It’s good, but I think it will be better as a slightly warmed bit of food over crisp lettuce.

DSCN1009

Two more, wait, no, three…or two and three-fifths more repeats to go before I start on the heel. I’ll get there.

Now, back to the socks, I thought about trying them on, but will save that for next week, when the English class “Culinary Curve Balls” are hopefully over and I get to do a happy dance and prepare for Quilt week. Which reminds me of a story…hopefully the nieces don’t read this far–but she’s already half onto me. Darn it.

DSCN0988

The Cat, deciding whether or not she’s claiming the entire bag, or sneaking out to inform my niece about this Super-Secret fantasy project….

I was only expecting the younger niece this week, not the older one-whom I’ve been working on a Super-Secret Fantasy Project for some time. The Super Secret Fantasy project had been laid out for some time while I tweaked it and planned it. I work on the simple and portable parts at work to keep from going bonkers on breaks. I plan them out and take care of the big tweaks at home in my “spare” time.

Silly me was not prepared for a fourteen year old to investigate my craft room–which she would at some point, and not leaving it to chance, I simply banned her from the room. Not all three girls, which would have been smart–but just the one I’ve been working on the project for. Let the twenty questions begin. That cat opened the damned bag before I could tie it shut. Not entirely, but she’s a decent guesser, so I reminded her of all the things I know how to sew. I think I’m going to have to gift her some surprise scrapbook pages for the birthday or Christmas. Let’s hope I have better luck getting to the heel of these socks soon!

Leave a Reply

