More Travel…

November 6, 2015

016

The view from my room…

It’s been a tiring week. I went back to Mackinac City for a quilt retreat. I was a good girl, I took my knitting along with me, for when I’m up in the middle of the night. I was also a bad girl. I didn’t touch the knitting the entire time, except to move it from its resting spot.

I did get some knitting done, but I’m wondering if I should have. I know better than to knit when I’m tired, which is part of why I didn’t get the knitting done at the retreat.

007

Briannag, suggesting I should rest the needles for the night…

I had a good time, and made some progress on the super-secret fantasy quilt. I even received some compliments. It’s amazing what you can do with fabric when you cut it up to make small shapes and turn them into interesting creations. I saw many a beautiful quilt, but did not take many pictures. I took more pictures of the view from my room.

Oh, the view….you have to see this. The balcony overlooked Lake Huron and the lake curved just right to get a good view of the bridge. I even got photos of the swans because my aunt would enjoy them…

008

Swans near the bridge for my aunt…

See? Swans…no, I don’t see a new quilt idea forming about the swans, but there is that bridge;-). Somedays, I would love to stay home and knit and sew…. At the retreat, I was got to do just that, well, the sewing part anyways. I can sew tired, as I hand sew, but like I said, I know better than to knit tired.

021

A view of one of the ferries at the end of the season…

I still tried to get some knitting done last night, and it went well. Tonight, I began the travelling stitch section. It didn’t go quite as well as I’d hoped, but it wasn’t entirely terrible either. It just isn’t right, and I was too tired and too frustrated to rip out entire rows. I had already frogged enough of the cable work tonight. I don’t like frogging, though it may be easier to frog when I’m mid-row, than when I’ve completed a row or a section.

009

I haven’t decided if I’ll rip out this section, I don’t think it looks that bad, but it doesn’t look that great either. I told a couple of the girls at the retreat that we knitters call mistakes Angel kisses….mine has really been more angel kissed than I like tonight. But I hate ripping out the rows more than I hate angel kisses;-).

008

Hidden areas of the angel kisses…in the interest of fairness…

Leave a Reply

