There Will Always Be…

July 24, 2015

…Knitting…so long as I have yarn and needles.

013

Last week’s progress…

The week of “I don’t want to…” turned into  a week of “Now, you have to…” Of course, it also helps that I’m not feeling so broke I’m afraid to use my spare change to buy a candy bar. So, the bills have to be paid, licenses still have to be renewed, uniforms still have to be exchanged and the oil in the car needs to be changed. It was a bit of a busy, early morning for me, that started around 2:30PM.

010Briannag and Squib snuggling with each other as I knit…Squib is still an Official Knitting Inspector.

There was some enjoyment this week, such as the book I’m reading by Julia Quinn, The Secrets of Sir Richard Kenworthy when the heroine was asked for backstage help, and glued the unicorn horn on her cousin’s head. Later, as the cousin’s mother attempted to pull the unicorn horn off and was informed of the glue, the mother of about five children asked, (matter-of-factly, from what I could tell) “Did she use cement?”  I nearly fell out of my bed laughing myself hoarse. I was slightly concerned I’d have to call into work from laryngitis as a result. I was supposed to be going to bed. (Story of my life…)

013 Briannag  decides it’s play time. She and Zeus took up a collection and dropped it in my lap. (Sorry there are so many photos of my lap)

But today, I got the uniforms exchanged, so they will not unravel at work. I read more of the book as I got the oil changed (yes, I utilize a mechanic. My strengths lie with yarn and telling tales-tall or true, not car parts;-)). I also stopped off at the library to print off some forms I needed and got a walk in with Dear James and the puppies. In addition, I agreed to cook. In all fairness, its my turn, and I like to cook.

011Briannag, looking like she is requesting snuggles(she gets lots), or wine(she doesn’t get much, but she likes the simple tastes she’s received, not that I leave much behind)…I’m never sure which one…

Once I got dinner in the oven, I had a decision to make, knitting or writing. I still need to make my word count tonight. But I can write when I’m tired…(famous last words). I know for certain I should not knit tired. So, knitting wins. And I was reminded as the dog lay there and whimpered at me to either love her or share the wine…the knitting is always right there. It was simply waiting for me to pick up, check where I left off and knit on. I even began to feel like I’m making progress with this sock, which likely means I’m past the halfway point of the foot.

005

Briannag, pouting that the knitting is in the spot she wants(usually the occupied one), and the Kong hasn’t been filled–they haven’t brought me the second one yet…

I always wonder a bit about how much longer once I stop decreasing and begin really working towards the toes. Part of me, the inner Wonder Woman, wondered if I could get this sock knit before my extra day of work next Thursday. Part of me looked at how much was left and saw a reasonable doubt. If I do finish the sock in time for work one night next week, one of the  next two posts will be entitled “Wonder Woman.”

004Scamp, sleeping through my knitting…However, a skein of yarn escaped the bag. I’m really concerned she’s going to wake up and run off with it.

I am not Wonder Woman by any means. However, between my to-do list, the fairy garden I’m working on(of which I do not have many more pictures), the changes being made to the super-secret quilt I’m working on(more in another blog…there isn’t room here), the knitting and extra days at work…I’ve become a busy woman who feels a bit like the Wonder Woman who simply tries to do too much. I’ll get to it, and some enjoyment-as, what’s life without enjoyment. But I will feel every inch of it in the meantime. I’m so glad I’ve already turned the oven off. I hope you enjoy the kitties and puppies and their help with the knitting.

008

Sock progress…It’s getting there, really.

Then I consider learning how to really crochet, via a 1 hour coffee cup cozy, to start. Not tonight, though; I’ve been busy enough. I must finish the fifteen hundred words for today that I decided I could write tired. This may require some wine. In the meantime, I still have knitting.

010

Current look of the bi-color sock.

Leave a Reply

