A Case of The “I Don’t Wanna’s…” or Mondays…

July 17, 2015

…all week long. I didn’t want to go to work. (some days, that’s a given). I usually enjoy my job once I’m there, but it eats a lot of energy and builds a good deal of nervous energy I have to release, on my poor boyfriend who’s worked there longer than I have, and could likely narrate my stories for me… In addition, even on days off, I simply didn’t want to get out of bed. And I had to pick up my license for the next year, only it wasn’t in. It’s been a big case of the Mondays all week, or rather throughout my weekend. I have to return Friday night. I don’t entirely mind, but part of me expects my inner child to scream, “I don’t wanna!” as I get out of bed in the morning. I won’t be totally surprised when it does happen.

003

Some of the glittered fairy houses, painted entirely by my Little, Mariah.

However, I still got things accomplished this week. We made progress on the fairy garden, mostly sorting out what it could be and where we wanted things. Then we left instructions for my brother to do some cuttings to make it a recessed fairy garden. I decided to use a ¼” piece of board as the base and was talked into giving it a sort of frame. I’m debating (and wondering if I’ll get talked into) adding a bottom portion and filling it with dirt, but keeping the mostly octagon(circular shape). My Little, Mariah, and my nieces have put forth effort into this fairy garden as well as my dad and sister-in-law. My brother gets stuck cutting out holes and trimming the square board to meet the circular rim and framing it into a hexagon. I’ll post pics when we’re done. I didn’t think to take any of the garden today, and will wish I had later.

005

Lizzie, as a Minion, posing with a fairy house she glittered (please excuse the simple paint work, Lizzie will still be proud to be a Minion)

Though, the directions are readable to me, and hopefully most others who work on the project. Once we get the holes in, we can start adding plants into them and re-polyurethane the fairy houses we painted and glittered and turn it into a delightful retreats for fairies.

002

Putzer, checking my progress…

You are right, this has nothing to do with knitting. I remembered to knit on my socks sometime on Monday or Tuesday night. I skipped Wednesday night, as I’ve been writing every day I haven’t worked and some days when I’ve had a short shift. It is camp nanowrimo after all. This is a website that hosts month long writing goals for aspiring novelists every July, April and November. I have been in school for the last two. I’m enjoying participating in this one. I am also rarely bored.

011

See, I really have been knitting…I promise.

Speaking of bored, however, I may have gone slightly overboard on the plants, but hey, I now get to plant petunias in my flower bed(and it’s in need of some brightening up). The rest of the plants will mostly go in the garden…though I do need a cute little climbing vine that may have to put up with some rough conditions to grow out of a birdhouse window. But, what better way to say “Fairy Garden” than with climbing vines?

012 013

Current progress on the socks…and another view of the joining of the two colors

Alas, I promise, there will be a little more knitting, and a little more progress on the socks. But no, I’m still not close to finishing them. I must knit more, when I’m not writing, or including most of my family in building fairy gardens…Okay, okay, there is a reward at the end, in that if we get it delivered in time for the deadline, we get two free tickets to the renaissance festival. There is a first, second and third place prize, which they haven’t informed us what that is. However, as I told my little and meant it: The fairy garden is a reward in itself as it can be returned to us when the faire is over, and we can store it or remake it for next spring. My sister-in-law added, unless we score an outfit, in which case the reward will come out even. I really must get her that crochet bodice pattern for the two of us, and some good sweater or sock yarn. Alas, I have to pay the bills first…but imagine the possibilities!

004

Putzer, getting a closer look as an official knitting inspector…He works for a simple two-handed massage.

Leave a Reply

