Third Time’s The Charm

March 13, 2015

This week was Spring Break…a traditional week off of classes to give students a break with no homework. It was a nice break, though I spent it visiting my aunt, knitting, researching and writing a paper. So much for less work, but it might explain why I have one A and two slightly disappointing A- grades. I know, I know…I should be proud. I am, but I know I can do better. I have only eight more weeks to prove it and prepare for the Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam. I don’t have to take the exam in eight more weeks, but I will be taking it as soon as I can manage it. I will still have clinicals, which may make knitting a challenge, but I will make time. I  kind of like this pattern.

006

Third set of hearts done, ready to move onto the heel.

I like this pattern, so far, enough that I’ve knit the third and final set of hearts on the leg, which now measures six and a half inches. I’m happy with the length and am ready to begin the heel. Yeah! I think. The good news is, I now have Tuesdays off. The bad news is, I still have class on Wednesday morning. I may have to compromise on making time for the heel. I need to set up a new method of memorizing drug brand names and their generic names as well as what they treat. I really sometimes wish we had a more hands-on lab for this last semester, but that’s stitches already ripped out. Not that I have to rip any stitches out. I’m not being that much of a perfectionist right now.

Now, I get to pick a heel. Note: This is an intermediate to advanced pattern when it comes to the heel. Charts are already intermediate, but can be figured out with a couple of questions. But the directions simply state pick a heel. There is no mention of lining up stitches on the needles, so the top of foot stitches are all on one needle. I’m grateful I recall the need for this step.

001Difficult to see Squib, but the light pink triangle in the background, just behind the pattern is his ear. Just before I got out the camera, his paw was on the pattern, trying to keep the yarn for himself. He’s getting camera savvy, I say.

The heel choices are the usual suspects: Slip Stitch Rib, Stockinette, and Eye of Partridge. I will be debating about this until I sit down to knit it. I’ve knit both the Slip Stitch heel and the Stockinette heel. I’ve wanted to knit the Eye of Partridge heel since I learned it was an option. I haven’t been quite brave enough or sure it would work with the sock. In addition, its a black sock, it won’t show.

I haven’t forgotten that I’m switching colors, but that decision will come with this as well, and I’ll likely be two-stranded through much of the heel and gusset process. I will want the entire bottom to end up cream colored. However, I want only the black to show out of my shoes. I have not decided on the best way to make this happen. I’m truly considering switching off colors about halfway down the heel and picking up the stitches in black for most of the gussets. Then switching to cream after that point. It shall be an interesting sock as I knit.

005

A better picture of all three hearts knit into the leg of the sock.

Since it is an interesting sock, I will have to take excellent notes as I finish it, critter help or not. Wish me luck and determination as well as a little time.

2 Responses to “Third Time’s The Charm”


  1. It’s so frustrating how life insists on interfering with quality knitting time! But your socks will soon be done and they will be beautiful and cosy, judging by what you’ve knitted already. And very good luck with your studies. Sounds as though you’re nearly there. 🙂

Leave a Reply

