To Rib Or Not To Rib…

February 13, 2015

…was the planned title of this blog. However, I caught the local bug from work or my dear James, who may not be forgiven so easily. So, it’s becoming, To sleep, or not to sleep…there really is no question, however.

Okay, the bad Shakespeare puns are out of the way, and I did get some knitting accomplished this week. I also did not have much help from kittens or puppies. They are adorable, and cute, but it took the knitting to a kitten and puppy free land, my own home; where I contemplated extra credit for the mean teacher’s mean first quiz, intended for the entire class to bomb it. I’m not over it, but I don’t think you want to hear about instructors tricking you because they can. I don’t mind making the student meet one half-way. I should have studied better, but this quiz was designed to be bombed. “Everyone does it,” she says.

011Last week’s progress

Alas, I said I wouldn’t complain, I think. Instead let me tell you about the knitting. I got through the second reduction row, and the knitting became easier. There are only sixty-four stockinette stitches to knit. I’m hoping these aren’t too small, I usually knit seventy to seventy-two, but I suspect they’ll simply be snug. I can use snug, I think. Once I reduced to sixty-four stitches, counting every row, some of them twice; I read the instructions once again, and realized I needed five more rows of stockinette stitch to complete the ruffle stitches. I think she’s working in one inch sections, but I got them finished, with enough light to see each stitch against the pale green knitting needles.

  001This week’s ruffle

Once I completed the five rows, the choice became to rib or not to rib. Did I mention I was coming down with something. This is not when I want to make decisions about patterns. I’d like it done for me. I haven’t thought about the structure of the sock if I rib or not. The pattern author says it will not be seen, since it is black. I am inclined to believe her. So, if it doesn’t lend any structural support to the upcoming hearts, should I even bother. In addition, while I may rib for an inch, or until I’m ready to add the hearts, I have to switch to stockinette stitch a couple of rows before I add the hearts.

002

A slightly different angle (for those of you new to knitting with black yarn, note the contrast and the light are very helpful tools)
Now, I do not mind a little sock adventure and will be creating some of my own later, but just how much adventure do I desire? I’m already knitting one black sock, with a cream colored foot to come. I also have to knit a second version of this, so one thing is clear. I better make my decisions firmly and take good notes. I still have yet to decide, as some days, my brain chooses the “glutton for punishment” option. Some days, I refuse any other option. I hope I choose to put the knitting down that day. For now, I may return to bed and hope I can sleep.

To the rest of you lucky enough to feel well today, may your valentine’s day be not-so black-hearted and you find some joy in the day, whether with friends, or in holding anti-valentine’s day parties as they did in Debbie Macomber’s book Twenty Wishes. Speaking of books, my brand-new, spiffy, signed hard cover of J.D. Robb’s Obsession in Death arrived Tuesday. You know where to find me, when I’m not sleeping off whatever I contracted that relegates me to the chicken noodle soup, Wheat Thins and applesauce diet. If you are suffering similar, I wish you a speedy recovery, and will share the applesauce, but apparently not the Wheat Thins.

2 Responses to “To Rib Or Not To Rib…”

  1. Crooked Tracks Says:

    Hope you feel better soon and Happy Valentine’s Day.


  2. Thank you, dear. I’m sure I will as long as I don’t push myself too hard.;-).

Leave a Reply

