The Yarn is Found, The Pattern is Picked, The Kitties Have Struck, Again.

January 23, 2015

I found the black and cream sock yarn, cleverly hidden in a library book tote bag. Tote bags take on a whole new life in my home, but that could be another blog. For now, I picked out a free pattern on www.ravelry.com called (Black)Hearted, by Ariel Alteras. She even has a blog about these socks on blogspot, http://stariel.blogspot.com/2008/02/blackhearted.html. I thought it was a good read. I printed off the free ravelry pattern and decided to make these socks. Then I set down the yarn, and proceeded to make some guacamole. I needed energy for studying and knitting. Would you like some chips and guacamole? It will taste better tomorrow, but its pretty good tonight.

004

See, I found the yarn….and the needles…Let the adventure begin.

As I was chopping veggies and heating the guac, I was unaware of the activity going with the kittens. When I came out of the kitchen, I found Squib, (Mr. Mischief, himself), and my yarn on the floor. The cream yarn was in a state of disarray and the black yarn was on its way to that well-known state of disarray that often gets kitties in trouble. They love unattended yarn. I was almost surprised Scamp (Miss Mischief, herself), didn’t take it upon herself to assist. Had I given it any more time, she likely would have. You’ll have to take my word for this, Squib refused to pose near the scene of the crime. He’ll likely return to it at some point, though.

003Squib, caught on camera before he realized my trick…

But let’s get back to this sock pattern. I shall start with a few tips. If you are new to knitting or even new to sock knitting, be very careful knitting with black yarn. Many knitters avoid it altogether. I don’t necessarily blame them. I need to stop in the yarn store and create a wish list pronto. If you have other people assisting with your yarn stash, get wish lists established at your favorite stores. Yes, that is a tip, otherwise, that well meaning dearie will present you with yarn you might never use to create something you were hoping not to need more of. Yes, there’s a story here. It’s been told in another blog. Let me get back to some tips.

If you proceed to knit with black yarn, as I am, use light bamboo needles, or light/bright aluminum ones. My dear James bought me some beautiful square wooden needles that are dark brown. There is no contrast. I’m going to need stronger glasses before I’m done with this pair of socks. I do not like to advertise that I’m already into bifocals. I don’t want stronger bifocals. James, has been forgiven though, as he did buy quality yarn and quality needles.

 002  Square knitting needles, perhaps you’ll see this better if I don’t lose them before I get to the lighter yarn…

But this could bring me to the next tip: He forgot the Ott-lite to go with black yarn and dark brown needles. If you persist in this knitting endeavor that so many knitters wisely avoid, get good light. Light is your friend when knitting with black yarn. I’m thinking of utilizing his LED flashlight to see my stitches. Currently, the stitches are very dark on quite dark needles, with little contrast and not enough light. You need one or the other at a minimum, if not both.

001

This ruffle could take a while, it’s not easy to knit what you can’t see…

The next tip: Pick a simple cast-on and pattern choice. This pair of socks came with a choice of a picot edge or ruffled edging or regular ribbing. I would, next time, (if using black yarn), pick the regular ribbing. It is much easier to knit 64 black stitches in a round than 256 of the ruffled edging I have chosen. I feel in over my head already, and I’m still on the first row! I can do this, I will do this, but you may hear about ruffling and light and contrast for some time to come. Come enjoy this determined endeavor with me, and forgive me if I start inserting various random pharmacy tech or medical terms. I’ve got to study sometime. See those stacks of note cards, over there, all three of them? Two of those stacks need to be committed to memory by next week.

Leave a Reply

