The Sock Monkey Is Complete…

December 19, 2014

Yes, the sock monkey is finished. I think it is the fifth one I’ve knit-thankfully not this year. And I made it through the part where I forgot the pattern creator wasn’t good at reduction math. The theory was close, but the numbers were off. I simply added another row of reduction and don’t think it was noticed too much.

It has been a productive couple of days off for me. I nearly completed one block of the log cabin book wrap quilt. And I made homemade from scratch cranberry sauce last night. I also got some Christmas cards mailed, finally. Now I need to finish the second batch.

I made some double chocolate chip cookies Earlier this week, I put my tree up (finally), and tonight I got it trimmed with lights. It looks pretty. I did not take any pictures. Perhaps for next week…though I may have to decide to post my blog early. I also hear the Chinese (sort of) Chicken and Persimmon Sauce sizzling on the stove. Better get up and check that. Oh, and there’s my tea, in the (gasp) microwave. I haven’t bought my dear James a nice electric tea kettle. I haven’t figured out how to make it a good gift for him….hmmm….perhaps I need the help of a friend here;-).

Alas, oh yes, I wrapped gifts earlier. Phew, I should be exhausted. And I sewed a muzzle and ears and hat and scarf on the sock monkey. I sewed his/her arms and tail on earlier this week. It was easier than I remembered.  Let’s get that tea as I tell you about it…Chamomile with Lavender or Passion tea, dearie?

Now, let’s get back to the finishing touches on the sock monkey. I knit the hat and scarf before I finished the muzzle and ears. Since I was using a thinner yarn, I stuck with the patterns standard measurements on both. They seem to work. Then I began knitting the muzzle with the chunky yarn. Perhaps next time, I’ll use an even different yarn. However, I knit the muzzle with the regular number of stitches. It looked a little big.

001

Front view of the yet to be named finished knit sock-style creation.

Then I forgot to work out some math and change the ears. So they were knit at the regular size as well. Then I needed to sew everything shut…except the hat. Let me explain. At the end of the knitting is the sewing. The scarf gets sewn shut at the ends. The ears get sewn shut once complete. The hat is not sewn shut. I simply sew it on with the option of removing it. But I do make a pom-pom for it. Dear James thought the pom-pom was a little big…bless his heart. He’s not making this monkey.

Alas, I digress, I had to sew all these parts shut, and since I knit the muzzle a wee-bit oversize, I decided to sew it shut to make up for the overage. I think it worked. And monkeys have a noticeable muzzle, right? In the end, I think it looked okay. I even got the dogs to help me model the dear monkey. He models better with pet help.

005

Zeus ignoring the sock monkey he’s modeling.

Speaking of the dear pets, I will say, Scamp and Squib have been reasonably good about not getting into my yarn of late. It may be due to James leaving open a night-stand drawer to hold his kindle with a little red yarn he once practiced with to attempt to learn to knit. He has not made another attempt.

     Dear Scamp and Squib,

          Could one of you explain to me why I found red yarn in a cute little pile next to the scratching post? It wasn’t   

      intended for you either. It is also no longer where I set it on the desk…Hmmm….

     Love, Mom

008

Scamp pretending she’s not ready to run off with the sock monkey while Squib is occupied with his nap. Briannag is the puppy model for the yet to be named creation.

Dear Mom,

           Don’t recall how that happened. Perhaps one of the other creatures in the house helped.

     Love, Scamp

     P.S. Squib is otherwise occupied, but this is our story and we’re sticking to it.

Then Ace of Cakes just raised the bar on the double chocolate chip cookies with nuts I forgot to bring back with me. If I had, I’d offer you a cookie. But someone made bacon chocolate chip cookies. I have got to figure that recipe out.
Back to the sock monkey one last time, she is also officially wrapped and ready to head off to my little next week. I assume its a girl, as well, you see, don’t you. And my little is a girl.

013

Briannag, resigned to the modelling job, while wishing I’d make her something knit to chew on…It would take her thirty seconds to ruin a minimum of thirty minutes of work…

2 Responses to “The Sock Monkey Is Complete…”

  1. Crooked Tracks Says:

    I love your sock monkey. Merry Christmas.


  2. Thank you, and Merry Christmas to you and yours as well!

Leave a Reply

