Knit Into Sock Shape

June 1, 2014

My sock has finally moved beyond a periscope and has begun taking on the shape of leg, ankle and foot. Once Wednesday’s high school math students settled into their work of terms and simple examples, I began to knit, and knit some more. I had five class hours, an academic seminar and and prep hour.

004

By the time I got to the prep hour, I’d nearly finished another repeat of the lace design, leaving me with only one more repeat to finish-or sixteen more rows with a pattern, and four more rows in stockinette stitch before I got to the toe. I add the four, because once I exhumed and decoded my semi-cryptic notes, I realized I did knit four more rows in stockinette stitch before I began the on the previous sock.

Beginning the toe means I am almost done. This is when the project takes on more of a life of its own. It gains momentum. I want to pick up these needles and knit again. I want to finish my sock, and see it finish. I might even try it on just a little, once I get my feet clean enough after gardening in the mornings, just to see how it feels.

016

Soon, I will get to see two completed socks on my feet instead of a sock and a tube, or a sock and a tube with a heel flap I need to turn, or a sock and a periscope. I always begin to anticipate the finished sock when I get to this point. I even made progress through three quarters of the last lace repeat and am working on it more in the evenings to finish it.

Of course, it’s now June and Spring arrived with Summer fast on its heels. I have somedays, like today, where I do not wear socks at all. Oh, the irony! Alas, I still have places where I will need to wear socks and shoes and will wear this pair, because its pretty, or because I only need socks on for a couple of hours.

001

Alas, Autumn will return at some point with its chilly days begging for a cup of hot cocoa in a favorite pair of handknit socks. Who could resist? But for now, I will enjoy the sockless sun and summer as long as we have it. Don’t fret, that doesn’t mean I will stop knitting socks. It simply means I will have to knit other items as well, or crochet them….Gasp! I know I’ll prefer to knit more socks.

Leave a Reply

