Determined to Progress…or The Best Laid Plans…

April 5, 2014

This week’s blog is about the sheer act of determining that an act needs to be done, then doing it. I had the week off. This would translate to lots of time to knit and read in a perfect world. I’m not sure when I’ve ever felt as if the world was perfect…perhaps for a week while you’re falling in love with that great guy which I’m still lucky enough to want to be around.

 

I set about my week off with plans a plenty. I would get work done on my book. I would knit. I might clean. I should clean. I might read. I want to read. I have so much time. I decided to contribute some of my free time to scrapbooking. I did make some nice pages. Then I couldn’t find my corner-rounder punch. I called my best friend and asked if she hadn’t, even though I knew I didn’t. I searched and searched. Then I started clearing out a spot of my bedroom for my scrapbooking space. I began clearing off my scrapbook table to organize things a bit. I still didn’t find the punch. But now, I needed to finish setting up the new scrapbooking space.

 

When I wasn’t working on the scrapbooking space, I decided to devote some attention to a new quilting book. I was planning my nieces’ quilts and needed to give them some attention as well. I’m aiming for an art quilt for my oldest niece, so I spent the morning attempting to draw it out on graph paper. One might argue I could have been knitting.

 

I took the knitting to my boyfriend’s. I didn’t touch it. Finally, after days of setting up scrapbook space and focusing on quilts, I sat down one morning and said, “I am going to knit.” I decided that I promised myself knitting when I wasn’t working on other projects or applying for jobs to help pay those pesky bills. So, Friday morning, I sat down with my cup of coffee and determined that it would be done.

ImageWhat my sock looked like going into Spring Break

I picked up my needles and pattern, reviewed where I was and set to work. I decided I would knit all sixteen rows of one pattern repeat. I drank my coffee and refilled my mug as I knit that morning. The knitting went well and simple, because I knew what the yarn and the pattern would ask of me. I got through about thirteen of the sixteen rows before I started getting noticeable errors. When I realized the error, I did what I could to fix it in that row. I honestly hate ripping out an entire row of just done work for something that will likely be unnoticeable in the larger scheme of things.

As I “repaired” the error, I realized it was getting close to lunch time. I set the knitting aside and went to get lunch. Then I finished setting up some of my scrapbook space and worked on other small stuff. I did not get back to the sock that day.

ImageCurrent Sock Progress

This morning, I got up to have my cup of coffee and got out my knitting once again. I knew I only had three rows to finish to complete my original goal of one pattern repeat. Though I was a little later than planned, I was making the progress I had determined to make. My scrapbook area looks neat and tidy, for now. I have now completed sixty percent of the leg, or three total pattern repeats, with only two left until I begin the heel flap. I think that is enough motivation to get me moving.

ImageGetting there…one row at a time…(one stitch at a time, somedays)

Perhaps I will race Summer, and see if I can complete the sock before she moves in and takes over the warm-up job for Spring. In the meantime, wish me luck and motivation, and perhaps fewer interrupting projects. Though I admit, it is nice to have a space to complete my knitting project scrapbook. What can I say? I’m a crafter at heart.

Leave a Reply

