Sock #1 is done!

February 13, 2014

I did it! I did it! Now I want to do it again so I can wear them;-). I took a high school Math and Business English job yesterday in the hopes that I could rest my voice for much of the day. Lucky me, there wasn’t much presentation, just current work and a Math Terms Puzzle that looked pretty fun. I knit much of the day, and helped with the math terms puzzle when asked. Many days in elementary school, I am far from a “baby-sitter” as substitute teachers are often referred, but that day, for the sake of my hoarse and gravelled voice, I was grateful. So, I knit the toe, and I knit away, remembering, that no matter how long it seemed to take, the toe got smaller every other round in this case.

Image

The pattern maker went with a simple wedge toe with a decrease of four stitches every other round. It was a simple stockinette stitch pattern for the toe as well, which you may notice in the pictures. Part of me, knit the simple pattern, wondering if I could work the pattern into the end of the toe. If done carefully, I think it could be done, but unless I want to re-knit an entire 2.5 inches of toe in pattern, and delay the second sock, I will not be doing so. Some days, I’m good at complicating matters. Perhaps I will try this as I knit this pattern again in the future.

 

For now, I have begun the second sock, and have realized I need to buy more yarn. Yes, even as I complete this, I realize my mistake. One could argue it shouldn’t have been, but I lacked the foresight to stop into my local yarn shop with my book to show the proprietor what I was attempting. I was hoping at the end of knitting the sock that I would have just enough yarn to make it through, leaving me without any for my stash in order to make a stash-buster pair of entrelac up-down socks in the future.

 

However, I did not have enough yarn, and will need to purchase another skein soon, likely on pay-day, before I have time to decide some other purchase is more important. This one purchase will not be particularly expensive, but it isn’t a small couple dollar purchase for me, either. The trick will be matching up the dye lots. I hope there’s simply one skein of this dye lot left when I get there. I hope the color is still there for that matter. In part, it will simply be the toe I need to knit, but it is such a beautiful yarn, I wouldn’t want to finish with another color.

 

I won’t mind as much with a different dye lot, as these are on my feet, and my toes are often covered. It will hardly be noticed. But, if it is important to you, learn from my mistakes, check with your local yarn shop proprietor first. Otherwise, contact an experienced sock knitter, who may tell you, that 80 stitches with an 8 inch leg, may mean you will run out of yarn and should buy an extra skein you can always knit fingerless mitts with later, or some barbie dresses, or use in Up-Down Entrelac socks after you build up some more stash yarn.

 

In the meantime, enjoy the photos of my socks. Know that I have already begun the cuff of the next pair. For those of you who are curious, the toe is sewn together with a kitchener type grafting stitch meant to give the look of knitting.

 

Enjoy the 2014 Winter Olympics in Sochi this week, as I am. I love skating, I just wish China had gotten the gold in the pairs the other night.Image

 

Leave a Reply

