Lacy Socks, Pair #3

December 6, 2013

I must confess, I’m like a kid wearing a favorite shirt when it comes to my hand-knit socks. I just don’t want to take them off to wash them. I know I need to, but the wool hugs my feet and makes me want to snuggle up on the couch with a cup of hot cocoa and a good movie. I just don’t want to take them off…but I don’t want to smell like old socks either. I wish I could just take a bath with them on and wash them that way, but I know that won’t work, I’d have to rinse them very well and then take them off to wring them out and let them dry. I’m also pretty sure my body wash isn’t the best soap for them either, even if they may smell like coconut lime when I’m done. So, I must knit new socks…that way, I can just put on another pair. I may become someone who does not wear socks in the summer as a result.

So, I found a pretty pair that is a bit lacy and I’m hoping a bit cooler. Right now, when temperatures are dipping into the teens and we still have to take the preschoolers outside, I’m grateful for really warm socks. Later, when I’m sitting inside with an older grade, or back in a desk job, I may find the socks a little warm for the environment. So, I found a lacy sock pattern I like, began an elastic cuff that sort of fits the pattern, and began knitting. I’m still only half way through knitting the leg now. I have had to slip in two pair of Belle Ruffle Gloves which were easier to knit and very well received by my nieces for their Christmas gifts.

I am loving the yarn. It is a soothing and pretty wool, by Wildfoote called Lilac Desert. I’m loving the colors, but I think the pattern would show up better on a plain color sock yarn. Alas, I’m committed and in love with the combination I have managed so far.

Image

P.S. I did change my socks today. However, part of me can’t wait until I can try on this pair.

Leave a Reply

