Anticipation in the toes…

May 30, 2013

Am I there yet? Am I there yet? How much further? Try on sock…not quite enough. Or if you don’t wish to encourage ladders, you measure your foot then measure the foot of the sock. Part of me is very ready for the toe, but once I finish that I will be knitting sock #2. But as I knit, I do get the anticipation of getting to the toe.

I’ve got about two more inches of knit, knit, knit, knit, knit, knit, purl, purl nine times over as I continue making a foot. I enjoy this part because I know the end will come, but I do find it helps if I listen to a story on cd or have some other non-taxing distraction. It has been a useful way to listen to books on tape I might not have read otherwise.

Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy books, and read romance and murder mysteries with zeal and vigor keeping me up until the wee hours of the night. However, my periscope is looking like a sock, so that even the kids get it on their second or third try.  And the important thing is, I’m making progress. Image

 

Some days that progress seems slower than others, but each stitch in each row makes the sock. And when it is done, I get to wear my new socks! Or I get to chose someone to give the socks to as a gift. I’m considering my aunt, as I think she could benefit from them, and she likes green as much as I do, if not more. Alas, I hope they fit me. I want to wear them when it starts getting chilly out.  

The fun part of making socks, is thinking how are my feet going to feel in these. New socks have absolutely nothing on hand-knit socks. I’ve mentioned it before, but there’s something very special about wearing 1,000 little hugs for the feet. Part of me wonders though, if it wouldn’t be more accurate with 10,000 little hugs for my feet. Next, I get to come to the toes and begin reducing.

Mentioning the pattern here, as I normally do…I again, must repeat myself. This pattern is certainly for the advanced knitter, as it tells you to knit to a couple inches from the length of your foot and begin reducing. The good advice I received about this was once your pinky toe disappears, it’s time to begin reducing. I’ll use it, but I’ll be measuring my foot and hoping they’re what I want when I get finished.

Leave a Reply

