Coming to a Heel

May 2, 2013

I wanted to be so much farther along on this sock. I had planned to finish the leg/ankle section, knit the heel flap and turn the heel by tonight. But substitute teaching is more than knitting and watching videos…though the knitting makes for interesting conversation and helps keep the kids’ interests…well some of them. So, I haven’t gotten there. As I completed 22 out of the 32 rows I needed for the heel flap, and reworked two of the last four rows, I had to ask myself how much it mattered. I can focus on the pattern and show you what a partial heel flap looks like…photo to be taken shortly.

http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/vanilla-latte-socks

This pattern provides three options for the heel flap. I didn’t know there were options for a heel flap before I looked at this, but I was taught in the Navy, if you have 1,000 welders welding the same joint combination, you will still get 1,000 different welds. The same applies for knitting. Each knitter has their own tension, their own style and thankfully, their own yarn. They even have different patterns. Here, with three options, I decided I could play it safe and create an easy stockinette stitch style heel flap, which works on a Row 1: Slip 1, knit x…to end of row. or to pick a new style.

Image

The heel flap is extending 1.5″ or so “up” from the leg section of the sock.

I picked a new style. After shifting thirty six of my seventy two stitches to one needle, I settled on trying the Slip Stitch Rib. After all, my sock is ribbed. And I’m all about trying some new things, so long as its not too overwhelming. Notice, I’m still working on dpns (double pointed needles) and I haven’t attempted a toe-up creation from the sock world…I like to take my changes one or two at a time.

The slip stitch rib looked quick to knit up. The Eye of Partridge pattern was also available for the heel flap part of the pattern, but I decided I may save that for the next pair of socks. For now, I have shown you my progress, and since my other large commitments are easing off for now, I can focus on my sock and hopefully remember to take photos of this sock as I finish the heel flap, turn the heel and create the gusset. If I’m really on top of my game, I’ll get there this week. We’ll see where I get to. I’ve also been selected to call in for jury duty this month. I may be able to knit if I’m called up, but I’d rather be working. In addition, I’m not sure if we’ve gotten crazy enough to call knitting needles weapons, oops, perhaps the term they would use is “Potential weapons.”

Image

My part-time assistant, Squib, Kitten, and any other name that comes to mind as he’s knocking things over, sniffing in my knitting bag, and stealing my photography set-up. He thinks I set this up just for him.

Now, back to the classroom. I mentioned last week that I have taken my knitting into the classroom. For certain older grades, its almost a requirement. For lower grades, I find I’m more effective if I’m hands on and walking my butt off. I had second grade this morning and first grade this afternoon and once I got caught up on my notes, I just wanted to put my head down on my desk with the lights off as I threatened to do with the kids if they didn’t want recess. They chose recess. I almost did put my head down on the counter at the post office once I sent my charges home. So, for next week, I will have a heel flap finished, and hopefully have turned the heel…I’ll likely have to turn the heel over the weekend, as I find its best to finish in one sitting with few distractions, when possible. Wish me luck;-).

 

One Response to “Coming to a Heel”

  1. Geraldine Says:

    Now for the fun part. 😉

Leave a Reply

